Panning

My favorite picture from all my attempts at Panning.Nikon D90 - ISO 125, shutter speed 1/10, aperture f/22
My favorite picture from all my attempts at Panning.
Nikon D90 – ISO 125, shutter speed 1/10, aperture f/22

panning  present participle of pan (Verb)

Verb
  1. Criticize (someone or something) severely.
  2. Swing (a video or movie camera) in a horizontal or vertical plane, typically to give a panoramic effect or follow a subject.

So panning is a fairly new idea for me, and obviously on this post it is the second definition that is most appropriate. 🙂  This was our homework assignment this week.  I think if I was to add to the definition, I would add that it gives a feeling of movement while making it very clear what is your subject.

The keys in attempting this technique is to lock down your arms and body and make sure it is only your hips moving as you follow your subject.  You also need to remember that you need to lock your focus on the subject slightly before they pass in front of you, which takes LOTS of practice.  I was a bit shutter happy at first.  Use a slow shutter speed, snapping the picture as they pass in front of you, and continue to follow your subject as they pass.  Have I mentioned yet, it’s not an easy to do?!

I don’t know enough about panning at this point to give my attempts an honest assesment.  While I think there is a certain amount of fuzziness allowed in this, I can’t tell if my images are focused enough.  I do think they capture the movement pretty great though.

I’d love any in put from you more experienced panners out there to tell me what you think!  Hit me, I can take it.

Nikon D90 - ISO 125, shutter speed 1/20, aperture f/22
Nikon D90 – ISO 125, shutter speed 1/20, aperture f/22
Nikon D90 - ISO 100, shutter speed 1/50, aperture f/22
Nikon D90 – ISO 100, shutter speed 1/50, aperture f/22
Nikon D90 - ISO 100, shutter speed 1/25, aperture f/20
Nikon D90 – ISO 100, shutter speed 1/25, aperture f/20
Leave a Reply

