Digital 102 Metering Homework Assignment

matrix/evaluative metering - reading the light of the entire scene
matrix/evaluative metering – reading the light of the entire scene

I have to admit, I’m starting to LOVE Mondays…mostly because that’s when I get to go back to my photography class! It definitely makes starting back from the weekend much more bearable!!  This week was so crazy I wasn’t able to post my homework assignment earlier.  Our project was to take a portrait, landscape, and high contrast light in the three metering modes – matrix, spot and center-weighted. The idea was to try and see the difference in the way the camera reads light in these modes.

I think I had the most success in my high contrast light picture, where Ray was looking out our back door with only the porch light on. Poor guy, it was at the end of a long day, and he was still in pain, but he willingly modeled for me. Such a good guy!!  My portrait and landscape pictures showed less differences in the metering. However if you look close on the right side of “Tifa” (the cute little shih tzu) and the base of the tree, you can see the subtle light and detail differences.

Today in class we talked a little more in depth about composition, and different styles of photography, focusing a bit more on night photography, and light painting.  As well as the technical steps on  how to capture those difficult nighttime and low light shots.  This weeks assignment is to put some of that into practice, and I’m so excited. 

I took my first trip out tonight and got a couple cool really cool shots!  I also learned that it would be helpful to have a small flashlight with you to actually see menus on your camera, and find things like lenses that you put down after you switch out to your zoom lens!!  I almost lost my “nifty fifty” (photographer jargon for 50 mm fixed lens)  tonight in the dark…yikes!   I would have been heartbroken to loose that!

I will post soon, but after my influx of posts last night I think I will spread things out a bit!

Spot - using light from a one specific focus point,
Spot – using light from a one specific focus point,
Center-weighted - Using the light from the middle focusing point, as well as the points on either side.
Center-weighted – Using the light from the middle focusing point, as well as the points on either side.
matrix/evaluative
matrix/evaluative
Center-weighted
Center-weighted
Spot
Spot
Matrix/Evaluative
Matrix/Evaluative
Spot
Spot
Center-weighted
Center-weighted
Leave a Reply

