My Happy Place Project

Day 1:  My boys.  The only pic I took on New Years Eve and Day.  My ballerina girl was at a sleepover, and we let the little man stay up to watch the ball drop.  He was thrilled.
Day 1: My boys. The only pic I took on New Years Eve and Day. My ballerina girl was at a sleepover, and we let the little man stay up to watch the ball drop. He was thrilled.

I have to admit, I don’t usually put much stock in New Year’s resolutions or that there will be any true change with the simple advance of the clock from 11:59 on December 31st, to 12:00 on January 1st. However this year, I think I was looking forward to the turn of the calendar, as much as I was to Christmas, if only for it’s symbolic picture of a fresh start.

2012 was a tough year for me in a lot of ways. God in His wisdom decided He needed to re-prioritize a few things in my life. It has been a painful journey, fraught with misunderstandings and hurt, death of vision and dreams I felt were from Him…and perhaps harder still to see, hidden blessings. I wish I could say that I’ve navigated it all perfectly and as a picture of grace, but that wouldn’t be true. Frankly, there have been times that I’ve flat out thrown a “temper tantrum” that would put any two year old to shame, because I’ve not liked the path He’s chosen for me to walk. But God has been so gracious to me, forgiving when I humble myself before Him, giving me strength to pick up and move forward again and again. And in that process I’m catching more and more glimpses of the simple truth that, when He allows pain into our lives, it is often used for a deeper and greater good.

While this blog and my journey into photography is only a temporal part of the bigger picture, it’s still now a part of my story. You see, it is these trials and a few other circumstances, that have created the “perfect storm”, that has closed one door and opened another. And honestly, it has pushed me to walk through that door, in a new direction of something I may not have been brave enough to step into otherwise.

So with that back story, you might better understand why as I was visiting the blog of another photographer whose work I absolutely love and respect, I was impacted by her post, “The Wonder Project”. Seriously, Mary Anne’s artistry and knowledge is what I aspire too. I love her heart that comes out in her pictures and blog as well. Anyway, I could relate on so many levels. It was that post and echoes of Ann Voskamp’s “One Thousand Gifts” that have inspired me to throw caution to the wind, and commit to jumping in to my own challenge.

This challenge for myself is called, “My Happy Place”, and it will be my attempt to take a picture a day (or close to) of something that makes me smile, a blessing in my life, a beauty God has opened my eyes too, or things that take my breath away. The things that take me to my “Happy Place” where I’m overwhelmed by His goodness to me. My hope is that it will not only stretch me artistically, but that it will also affect my attitude, change my perspective and keep my focus where it needs to be. So here is my start in 2013, choosing to keep my eyes on God, the good things He has put into my life, and all that He has for planned for me in the year ahead.

One of my favorite families in the whole wide world.  This pic makes me smile everytime I see it.
Day 2: One of my favorite families in the whole wide world. This pic makes me smile everytime I see it.
My pooch.  She bounces when we go outside to play without a leash.  I love her quirkiness.
Day 3: My pooch. She literally bounces with delight when we go outside to play without a leash. I love her quirkiness.
Day 3: Crepe paper flowers with complimentary plastic bee, from the cutest little man I know.
Day 4: Crepe paper flowers with complimentary plastic bee, from the cutest little man I know.
Day 5: Flowers from my husband, who knows me better then I know myself sometimes. They came on a day I really needed to be reminded I am loved.
Day 5: Flowers from my husband, who knows me better then I know myself sometimes. They came on a day I really needed to be reminded I am loved.
3 thoughts on “My Happy Place Project

  1. Lea – they are fun aren’t they? He’s such a little giver. Always creating something for me. I love it. Mary Anne – you are so welcome!! Your pics are amazing, and touch me. Thanks for inspiring me to seek God’s wonder in my daily life too.

Leave a Reply

