The “W” Family

Wenaas Family-0111

So this afternoon I went out with one of my favorite families in the whole wide world! I first met the W family right after we moved back to the States from Hungary. My hubby and I were in the throws of burnout from our time in ministry, and I had the added pleasure of a severe case of postpartum. We joined the small group at our church, that Mr. and Mrs. W were leading that following fall. Quite frankly, I’m surprised they didn’t tuck tail and run far, far away from our raw and oozing neediness! However, instead of running from us, they embraced us, cared for us, and loved on us at a time when we needed it most. Honestly even just typing this, the reality of their love and care for us brings tears to my eyes. They became true friends, and fortunately saw us through to a time where we weren’t quite as messy as when we first met.

Now years later, while life makes it incredibly difficult to find time to get together, our kids still consider each other best friends.  And if Mrs. W and I are fortunate enough to find an opportunity for a coffee date, it can quite literally turn into a 6 hour gab fest.  They are kindred spirits through and through, and time and distance don’t ever seem to change that.  If you can’t tell, I love this family from the very core of my being, and am so grateful God has crossed our paths I am blessed to call them friends.

When I got home and was able to see the pics on the computer, I was nearly coming out of my skin with delight. It helps that my subjects are absolutely beautiful, but this is such a different setting from what I’ve usually done, and I wasn’t sure what to expect. The tracks and concrete made for the perfect backdrops for this beautiful family. And despite us all being VERY COLD, we survived, and hopefully they will love the outcome of the sacrifice as much as I do.Wenaas Family-0123

Wenaas Family-0413

Wenaas Family-0452

Wenaas Family-0479

Wenaas Family-0395

Wenaas Family-0385

One thought on “The “W” Family

  1. Teri…I just LOVE them so far! More than that, I loved your apt description of our friendship. You made me cry in my hot tea! We too have been richly blessed by your friendships and the authenticity we can share. We are all so messy, but may that mess keep us planted in the arms of Christ ALWAYS! Love you much precious friend!

Leave a Reply

