The “T” Family

untitled-0293

I really enjoyed getting to know this family better during this shoot.  I met the “T” family through a friend from a homeschool group I was a part of years ago. She knew that we had lived in Hungary for several years and her friends were Hungarian, so she connected us on Facebook (got to love Facebook for it’s networking capacity!). Having met only once or twice face to face, I have to say I was honored that she would ask me to do their family pictures.

In between shooting pictures I got to practice my Hungarian, and talk yummy Hungarian food. Man how I miss Kolosvari Kaposzta (a meat, rice and sauerkraut dish) and Turos gomboc (Really I have no way to describe what this is – think deep fried sweet cheese balls. Sounds crazy but oh so good :)! But enough about food…back to pictures. I really struggled with the light in this shoot. I just could not seem to get a handle on it no matter what I did.  I would get a shot that was solid and then just the slightest change in light, or direction and I was thrown again.  It was extremely frustrating at times to see the pic I wanted in my mind, and then not get it with my lens.  Somewhere towards the end of the shoot though, something clicked with the technical and artistic and things started to flow.

The lesson I learned today was don’t…give…up!  Just keep working at it with patience and perseverance when it’s not going the way you think it should.  Start back at the basics, and work your way up from there.  If you keep at it, you will eventually get what you are looking for.  Not a bad lesson in photography or life for that matter.  In the end I love the shots I got, and they are made even more sweet by the fact that I knew I worked hard for them.

Thank you “T” family for your patience with me, and enduring the “million picture” day. 🙂

_DSC0033

_DSC0255

untitled-0063

_DSC0241

_DSC0126

2 thoughts on “The “T” Family

  1. I think these are my favorite pictures you have done yet. Beautiful lighting and leaves in the background! Great shoot, you would never know you had any of the challenges you mentioned!

Leave a Reply

