Westward Bound…

 

I’ve been a little neglectful of posting on here the last couple weeks.  It’s not that I’ve not been taking pictures, only that I had to shift my focus intensity for a little while to my other hobby love  – the martial art of Tang Soo Do.  I had a HUGE belt test a week ago and it required all of my attention for preparation the two weeks leading up to it.  I am officially now a Black Belt candidate though, so I’m really proud of that accomplishment and look forward to finishing the course on that.  That huge test was followed by a somewhat “spur of the moment” trip to Colorado to see some dear friends of mine.  Spur of the moment for me is – I made the decision 2 1/2 weeks prior to actually go! 🙂  You have to understand this is completely out of character for me…but God orchestrated all the details and provided the opportunity, so how could I let my “routine” loving self get in the way? 🙂

John Deer baby! 🙂

 It has been so good to be here, to catch up with my friends, and take pics of her gang and extended gang.  Here are some of the finished works so far.  I’ve really been focusing on getting the clarity and focus that I feel has lacked in my pics.  Yesterday I felt like I had some real breakthroughs as to positioning in regards to sunlight, and also the ratio of distance to lower f stops in portraiture to achieve optimum clarity. Did you know that sun over the shoulder instead of sun in front of you actually makes a better pic (sometimes you may need a fill flash), but honestly it was a revelation for me.  I read it in this photography book that my friend had and I was like…no…way!  It breaks a rule I’ve been taught since I was knee high to a grasshopper, but I tested the theory and I have to say…It was absolutely true.  There were less shadows, less complaining from my littlest subjects and not as much squinty pics.  It made me so happy!!  And to top it all off…I love my pics from the day! and that is what I am looking for.

Leave a Reply

