The Business of Play

This past week I had an opportunity to watch my two nieces.  My kids were thrilled that I had some new subjects to aim my lens at! I so enjoyed watching the girls play and figuring out ways to capture these carefree moments of childhood.  As I snapped away, trying to master my nemesis of shutter speed and aperture, I had the realization that one of my happiest places was behind the lens of the camera…even at it’s most frustrating moments.

I have never felt very artistic, but have always admired those who were, and wished just a little that I had more talent in that arena.  However as I’ve picked up my camera, I feel like it is as if God has given me a window into places of me I didn’t even know existed.  A creativity that is raw and untrained, but there.  As I uncover that part of me I can’t help but be grateful for the discovery of a way to creatively express myself.  I’m not sure where this path will take me, but for now I am enjoying the journey.

In other news…headed to the mountains for a couple days to see some fall colors!  I can’t wait to play with my family and my camera there!  I am not sure of my internet availability so pics may be delayed. Stay tuned!

Nikon D90, 50 mm, ISO 400, f/2.8, shutter speed 1/200

Nikon D90, 50 mm, ISO 320, f/3.5, shutter speed 1/80
Nikon D90, 50 mm, ISO 320, f/3.5, shutter speed 1/200
Nikon D90, 50 mm, ISO 320, f/3.5, shutter speed 1/160
Nikon D90, 50 mm, ISO 400, f/2.8, shutter speed 1/500
Nikon D90, 50 mm, ISO 400, f/3.5, shutter speed 1/200
Nikon D90, 50 mm, ISO 400, f/2.8, shutter speed 1/200

“Inside you there’s an artist you don’t know about… say yes quickly, if you know, if you’ve known it from before the beginning of the universe.”
Rumi

One thought on “The Business of Play

Leave a Reply

