Friends, Birthday Parties, and Weekend Trips

Nikon D90, 50 mm, ISO 800, f/5, shutter speed 1/30 and some post editing in Lightroom.

So you remember that post about low light settings being the bane of my existence that I DIDN’T write.  I have a feeling it is coming.  Here is Friday’s pic that I didn’t have a chance to post. It’s way to grainy for my liking, but that is the cost of your only light being the candles on the cake. I’m learning that when you increase your ISO in low light situations, you tend to lose image quality. With my Nikon D90 I’m not really happy going above an ISO of 800, but will sometimes push it to 1000 to get a shot.  Especially in this situation.

For all the bad qualities of the technical side of this picture,  I love it.  Mostly because it is my son (to the right) and his best friend, at his best friends birthday party.  These two are wild an crazy together, and have known each other since they were wee little lads.  So grainy or not, this picture warms my heart and makes me super happy.  Totally worth the sacrifice of image quality.

In other news my delay in posting is because life is crazy, and after a busy couple days we packed up the fam and headed out for the weekend.  We are hanging out at a garden park that has become a family favorite in the way of destination for getting away and relaxing.  Even better, they host multiple levels of photography workshops.  So I spent yesterday going to a class, while the kids played with Daddy.  I got so much information I feel like my head is about to explode.  Today is a 4 hour hands on photography shoot with the photographer who taught the class.  I’m so excited!!  It’s rainy, here so maybe I will be able to work out my low light problems?!  Time will tell.  My internet connection is spotty at best here, so most of those pictures will have to wait till I get home.  But I can’t wait to share them with you!!

Leave a Reply

